Montréal-NJ-NYC-London-Boston-WORLD

A Few Updates

In Canada, Gigs, London and the UK, Montréal on April 7, 2010 at 1:20 am

So, there’s been too many good shows the past few days and we’ll have to endure at least a little bit longer. Steve and I went to see Nosaj Thing (well, we actually missed him unfortunately), jj, and the xx Saturday night at Metropolis. Steve or I will write a full review later but a few brief comments about it:

-It was a bit disappointing missing Nosaj Thing, I’ve been reallly into his album from last year called Drift (pick it up here)

-jj was, I hate to say, quite unexciting. She came out with a guitar, that she played for I believe three songs, and a laptop that played all the background music. She’s got a good voice and a bunch of really good songs but overall it was not too exciting a performance.

-the xx were solid. They’ve also got some really good songs and they put on an alright show. The crowd was really into their set and I wish I could have joined in their excitement but I thought they were good, not great though

-Overall, good show

Some others, including Arnold, went to see Braids, Makeout Videotape, and You Say Party! We Say Die! Saturday night at La Sala Rossa. There may be a full review of the show but here are the major details based on what Arnold relayed to me:

-He thought Braids were very good

-He thought Makeout Videotape were great as usual

-He was not so into You Say Party! We Say Die! but he liked them well enough

We didn’t go to any shows Sunday but last night Arnold caught Over-gain Optimal Death and Acid Mothers Temple at La Sala Rossa. From what I’ve heard it was MADNESS. Arnold may be inclined to post a full review on the show so hopefully more info on that soon.

And at the Sunfields, Those Darlins, and Deer Tick show at Il Motore, which I did not attend either, some drunk girl(s) threw a bottle onstage that hit Deer Tick drummer Dennis M. Ryan in the face, which I can’t imagine he wasn’t too happy about.

In unrelated news: Zomby, who put out the fantastic ‘Where Were U In ’92?’ has two new songs on his SoundCloud, one called ‘She Loves Me‘ and the other, appropriately enough, ‘She Loves Me Not‘. I will say this, they’re both great. They’ve got his signature siren sound sound and they’re both very upbeat. I think I like ‘She Loves Me Not’ more but maybe I’m just a pessimist…either way, check them both out (below), they’re goood (Thanks to Fader for the heads up).

SheLovesMe by ZOMBY ®

SheLovesMeNot by ZOMBY ®

Finally: Some ‘teasers’ from the new Broken Social Scene album, Forgiveness Rock Record, which comes out May 4th, 2010. I’m excited, new songs sound good.

////UPCOMING SHOWS////

  1. […] scene that they almost seem like established grandparents to some of the city’s newer acts. In fact, they are the most tagged band on this very blog. It therefore surprises some to learn that […]

Leave a Reply

