Montréal-NJ-NYC-London-Boston-WORLD

I don’t sleep, cuz sleep is the cousin of death…(Miscellanea)

In Choice Cuts, Song Reviews on November 22, 2010 at 2:56 am

Or because I don’t feel like going to sleep. My buddies named this website Midday Procrastination, but I seem to do my best procrastinating in the wee hours of the morn. Here’s some of the good shit for ya’ll, a little peak inside my brain. (I alternated rap tracks and non rap tracks a bit to keep my promise from the last thing I wrote. Hope someone appreciates that.)

Up until a week ago or so I forgot how great these guys are. Don’t make the same mistake. Repping Bergen County pretty hard. And if you like that, you’re going to love this…

Great stuff Justin, keep up the good work.

Young hussein/ stay in the pocket like loose change/stay up all night like Bruce Wayne…I’ve been bouncing to this one for a little while. These dudes are from Philly. They just came out with a mixtape called Girls Who Smoke Cigarettes, which is a pretty cool name. Best part of this group is the producer Bij Lincolns. He does some damn cool stuff.

One of my favorite songs. I’ve heard from a lot of people that Elliott Smith is too depressing for them to listen to more than a little, which always struck me as a bit odd. I guess I’m taking something different away from the music but I always found a lot of his songs to be very uplifting. He was obviously a troubled guy but some of his songs have overwhelmingly optimistic lyrics, plus the music itself is incredibly beautiful.

Twas my Mom’s birthday this past week, which has little to do with why I’ve been listening to this, but happy birthday mum! Also, everyone’s been rocking out to the new Kanye album, which is pretty incredibly, but just for the record, he’s been putting out some pretty amazing stuff for a long time.

Big stuff from one of my favorites coming soon, dude finally got signed (or allowed himself to be signed, or whatever)! More to come from me on him I’m sure. How many rappers out there are sampling JFK, the Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind soundtrack and Willy Wonka? (None…it’s just Jay Elect, he’s the best.)

I just watched Being John Malkovich for the first time the other night and then heard that first song today. A nice coincidence. The two songs sound really pretty different sonically-one’s out of the Passion Pit dancy pop club and the other one is more in the vein of Sufjan, Beirut, maybe? Both are very good though, which is why I listened to them a bunch of times and then put them in this thing.

Coolest name for a song I can think of, and the song lives up to its name. I like Spitta for his rapping, but Ski’s production is effin amazing. Silky smooth.

No words…

  1. Ah, it’s such a shame that you guys don’t post often enough, and then when you do: BAM, 10 awesome videos at once. When I procrastinate from work and check you guys out, I never have the time to appreciate the full length of your posts. Post shorter and more often!

Leave a Reply

