Montréal-NJ-NYC-London-Boston-WORLD

A Walk on the Moon

In Features on January 19, 2011 at 1:06 pm

I’ve always enjoyed describing the very specific feeling I get from certain music. I don’t necessarily mean specific emotions, like “happy” or “mellow”. Some music just brings out weird, almost indescribable descriptions, like “blue” or “walking through the woods”. In honor of these feelings, we at this website are beginning what will hopefully be at least a semi-regular feature, creating and writing about a series of songs meant to be the soundtrack for a very specific scenario.

For the first, I created a list of songs I would want to be my soundtrack as I walked on the moon for the first time. Like, hit the play button as I open the door to the little space pod thing, continuing as I stroll around among the craters and meteors and all that, and conclude as I climb the ladders back up to the ship, take one last look around and then step back inside. Hopefully anyone who listens to this can get in the mindset I imagined while creating it, or at the very least, enjoy the tunes.

Here’s a link to download: http://www.mediafire.com/?39ucmb4329bz14z

And here’s a list of the songs, with some insightful little comments.

1. Everything In Its Right Place – Radiohead: The first song I thought of when I came up with the idea for this. The first few notes of this song are undoubtedly what I would want to accompany my first steps on the moon.
2. Es’s – Julian Lynch: “The first Julian Lynch song I fell in love with. It’s the soundtrack to many beautiful things, including free-floating on the moooon.” – Matt May
3. Angel Echoes – Four Tet: To quote a good friend of mine, “It actually songs like angels echoing!!!”. It does indeed.
4. Breastroke – Mathemagic: “I lost my shit when I heard this song. It was really late at night and I was not entirely sober, and I felt nothing but amazing.” – Matt May
5. NO WAY – PEPEPIANO
: This song and the one before are the center of the mindfuck portion of the trip, when you start getting overwhelmed by the fact that your on the fucking moon…
6. I’m With You But I’m Lonely – Gold Panda: …which is followed by the more introspective portion of your time, after the initial excitement has passed, but you’re still overwhelmed by being on the fucking moon.
7. Sometimes – My Bloody Valentine: “This band is everything great about overwhelming guitars and accidental/intentional beautiful noise. If there was sound in space, you’d want to hear this blasting.” – Matt May
8. That Finger On Your Temple Is The Barrel Of My Raygun – Stars of the Lid: Stars of the Lid’s entire discography is essentially a soundtrack to what I was thinking imaging for this.
9. Memory Gongs – Cocteau Twins and Harold Budd: A little diddy off an album I stumbled upon years ago called The Moon and the Melodies. Like Stars of the Lid, this entire album is essentially what I was shooting for with this.
10. Hoppipolla – Sigur Ros: “When you’re preparing to say your goodbyes to the object that floats around the Earth, this is what you will hear.” – Matt May

Ethan Scholl

Leave a Reply

